CEC Alumni

Find on this page some testimonies of CEC alumni who tell you about their experience at the Chair and their professional career after graduation. Following is the list of all CEC Doctors with their professional network and subjects of their thesis.

 

Bénédicte Meurisse

Economist at the Ministry of Ecological Transition’s General Commission on Sustainable Development (GCSD)

 

I defended my thesis on “Public economic policies to limit CO2 emissions from car use” in November 2015 at Paris Nanterre university. In parallel to working on my thesis, and thanks to the Climate Economics Chair’s (CEC) financing, I was able to participate in an initiative launched by the CEC on “Mobility in a low carbon society”, between 2012 and 2015. This led me to collaborate with Michelin, the initiative’s main partner over this period of time. After this experience of working within a chair open both to the private and the public spheres, I aspired to take up a position which would allow me to work at the interface between knowledge, analysis, and policymaking.

In June 2016, I joined the GCSD as a project manager focused on the economics of health and the environment. I then became deputy director of the Office of Environment, Materials and Risk, and am now deputy director of the Office of Transport, Construction and Risk. I am currently piloting a working group to evaluate the health benefits of public investment projects, in partnership with France Stratégie and the Secretariat General for Investments. I am also contributing to the development of a national socio-economic methodology to evaluate action programs aimed at flood prevention.

Clément Bonnet

Assistant Professor

at Montpellier University

CEC Associate Researcher

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

During the three and half years I spent at the CEC, I enjoyed working in a dynamic research environment and benefitted from the excellent material conditions available for my internship, followed by my PhD thesis Innovation in the service of energy transition: the case of the electric sector. I carried out my thesis under the supervision of Mr Baudry, a Professor at the University of Paris Nanterre. The fact that the CEC is structured around three research hubs allows PhD students to anchor their personal research within a larger project and to be part of a group dynamic. The seminars which are regularly organized allow CEC researchers to present their work to diverse audiences, comprising of individuals from the academic world, as well as governmental institutions, associations, and private companies. Additionally, these seminars give CEC PhD students the opportunity to learn about the various issues at stake when we talk about global warming and to expand their skillsets. The CEC’s scientific network is a valuable resource to connect with researchers from other institutions. This network is particularly mobilized during the CEC’s annual conference, and it contributes to the quality of the academic research produced by the CEC.  Finally, the fact that PhD students are all working in the same place promotes values of sharing and cooperation, making the CEC an ideal environment to conduct a PhD.

My experience at the CEC has shaped my interest in researching the interactions between the economy and the environment. The skills I acquired during my PhD years allowed me to benefit from a post-doctoral financing opportunity from the IFP Energies Nouvelles, which then lead me to begin my career as a Researcher and Assistant Professor in September 2019 at the University of Montpellier’s ART-Dev laboratory.

Gabriela Simonet

Project Manager at CIFOR

 

 

 

I worked within the CEC’s team between 2011 and 2016, first as an intern, then under a fixed-term contract, and finally as a PhD student Management of tropical forests as a lever of climate change mitigation: the experience of ‘REDD +. Despite my initial reluctance, Christian de Perthuis convinced me to begin a PhD and I am beyond grateful for the experience I have gained thanks to this decision, both from a scientific and a personal perspective. I was particularly lucky to be able to conduct field work, which was very important to me. I spent several months in the Amazon rainforest in Brazil to evaluate the impact of a forestry carbon project (REDD+). My experience at the CEC opened many doors for me; it allowed me to continue travelling across the world of REDD+ projects and discover three great forest basins. The CEC also equipped me with a solid knowledge base on carbon pricing, thanks to the regular seminars which were organized as well as the exchanges I had with other researchers. I also cherish the memories of my time at the CEC due to the warmth of the work environment, and the friendships developed with the other members of the team. I particularly enjoyed participating in the very first steps of the CEC, which very much resembled a large family in which everyone works together. This taught me a lot. Thank you to Christian and the whole team, and best of luck to all!

 

Salomé Bakaloglou

Obstacles to lower energy consumption in the residential sector. An empirical analysis of the French case

Vincent Bertrand

The european union emission trading scheme and energy markets : economic and financial analysis

Hugo Bois

Mobility demand modeling and foresighting

Yvain Canivet

Entropic and exergetic analyses of energetic systems by means of geometric representations

Edouard Civel

The Red and the Green : essays on the economics of information in the sustainable habitat market

Victor Court

Energy, EROI and economic growth: a biophysical approach of the economic system

Benjamin Dequiedt

Mitigating greenhouse gases in the agricultural sector: a focus on farmlands

Bastien Dufau

The influence of energy prices on cost competitiveness: A multisectoral and international approach

Jérémy El Beze

The roles of energy substitution and efficiency in the decarbonization of the housing stock in France

Stephen Lecourt

Manufacturing sectors in the EU ETS

Nicolas Legrand

The causes of price volatility in agricultural markets and the consequences on food security 

Jill Madelenat

Analysis of energy efficency in the tertiary buildings: modelling and economic instruments

Claire Papaix

Implementing economic policy-tools for a low-carbon mobility of passengers at the urban scale

Simon Quemin

Essays on Spatial and Temporal Interconnections between and within Emissions Trading Systems

Olivier Rebenaque

The impact of grid pricing and support policies on the development of photovoltaic self-consumption

Marie Renner

The Emergence of Carbon Capture and Storage Techniques in the Power Sector

Boris Solier

An economic and ex-post analysis of the impacts of the carbon price on the European power sector

Camille Tevenart

Barriers to GES emissions mitigation in the French agricultural sector: the role of uncertainty, information and risk attitudes

Raphaël Trotignon

In Search of the Carbon Price. The European CO2 Emission Trading Scheme: From ex ante and ex postanalysis to the projection in 2020

Wen Wang

Integrating agriculture into the Chinese mitigation policies

Julien Wolfersberger

Economic development and forest transition

CEC Alumni

Retrouvez sur cette page quelques témoignages des anciens de la CEC qui vous parlent de leur expérience à la Chaire et de leur parcours professionnel à l’issue de leur diplôme. A la suite, la liste de l’ensemble des Docteurs de la CEC avec leur réseau professionnel et leur sujet de thèses.

 

Bénédicte Meurisse

Economiste au Commissariat Général au Développement Durable (CGDD) du Ministère de la transition écologique

 

J’ai soutenu ma thèse intitulée « Politiques économiques publiques pour lutter contre les émissions de CO2 liées à l’usage des véhicules particuliers » en novembre 2015 à l’université Paris Nanterre. Bénéficiant d’un financement de thèse de la Chaire Economie du Climat (CEC), j’ai parallèlement à ses travaux de thèse, participé aux activités de recherche de l’initiative de recherche « Mobilité dans une société bas carbone » de la CEC de 2012 à 2015, et collaboré avec Michelin, principal partenaire de cette initiative de recherche sur cette période. Forte de cette expérience au sein d’une chaire ouverte sur le monde privé et la sphère publique, j’ai aspiré à occuper un poste à l’interface entre la connaissance, l’analyse et la décision publique, et j’ai rejoint, en juin 2016, le CGDD en tant que chargée de mission en économie de la santé-environnement, avant de devenir adjointe à la cheffe du bureau de l’économie des milieux, des matières et des risques. Actuellement, je suis adjointe au chef du bureau des transports, de l’aménagement et des risques. Je pilote un groupe de travail sur l’évaluation des bénéfices de santé des projets d’investissement public en partenariat avec France Stratégie et le Secrétariat Général Pour l’Investissement, et contribue au développement de la méthode nationale.

Clément Bonnet

Maître de Conférence à l’Université de Montpellier

Chercheur Associé à la CEC

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Au cours des trois ans et demi que j’ai passé à la Chaire Économie du Climat (CEC), j’ai pu profiter d’un environnement de recherche dynamique et bénéficier d’excellentes conditions matérielles pour la réalisation de mon stage suivi de mon doctorat l’innovation dans les technologies de l’énergie bas-carbone : analyses théoriques et évaluations empiriques sous la direction de Mr Baudry, Professeur des Universités à l’Université Paris Nanterre. L’organisation de la CEC autour de différents pôles de recherche permet aux doctorant.e.s de situer leurs travaux de recherche dans un projet plus large autour duquel se construit un travail d’équipe. La tenue de séminaires permet également aux chercheur.e.s de la CEC de présenter leurs travaux devant un panel divers qui rassemble aussi bien des personnes du monde académique que des institutions gouvernementales, des associations et des entreprises. De même, assister à ces séminaires permet aux doctorant.e.s de se former aux différents enjeux en lien avec le réchauffement climatique et participe à élargir leur champs de compétences. Le réseau scientifique de la CEC est d’une aide précieuse pour entrer en contact avec des chercheur.e.s appartenant à d’autres institutions. Ce réseau, mobilisé notamment à l’occasion des conférences annuelles de la CEC, contribue à la qualité des travaux académiques produits par la CEC. Enfin, la présence sur le même site des doctorant.e.s fait de la CEC un lieu de partage et d’entraide qui offre un cadre idéal pour la conduite d’un doctorat.

Mon expérience à la CEC m’a donné le goût de la recherche sur les interactions entre l’économie et l’environnement. Les compétences acquises durant mes années de doctorat m’ont permis de bénéficier d’un financement pour un post-doctorat à l’IFP Energies Nouvelles qui m’a ensuite conduit en septembre 2019 à débuter une carrière d’enseignant-chercheur à l’Université de Montpellier au sein du laboratoire ART-Dev.

Gabriela Simonet

Chargée de projets au CIFOR

 

 

 

J’ai côtoyé l’équipé de la CEC entre 2011 et 2016, d’abord dans le cadre d’un stage, puis d’un CDD, et enfin d’une thèse la gestion des forêts tropicales comme levier d’atténuation du changement climatique : l’expérience des projets REDD+. Christian de Perthuis avait su me convaincre de me lancer dans un doctorat et, malgré mes réticences initiales, je suis ravie de l’expérience, tant humaine que scientifique, qui a découlé de cette décision. J’ai notamment eu la chance de réaliser le travail de terrain qui me tenait tant à cœur : passer plusieurs mois en Amazonie brésilienne afin d’évaluer l’impact d’un projet carbone forestier (ou REDD+). Mon expérience à la Chaire m’a ouvert de nombreuses portes, qui m’ont ensuite permis de continuer à voyager dans le monde des projets REDD+ à travers les 3 grands bassins forestiers. La Chaire m’a également apporté un solide bagage en termes de connaissances en économie du carbone, à travers les séminaires réguliers et les échanges avec les autres chercheurs. Et puis, je garde de mon passage à la Chaire, le souvenir d’une atmosphère de travail joyeuse et d’une belle camaraderie avec les autres membres de l’équipe. J’ai aimé participer aux débuts de la Chaire, qui avait alors l’allure d’une grande famille dans laquelle chacun met la main à la pâte. Cela a été très formateur. Merci à Christian et à toute l’équipe, bonne continuation à tous !

 

Salomé Bakaloglou  

Les obstacles à la baisse des consommations énergétiques dans le secteur résidentiel. Une analyse empirique du cas français

Vincent Bertrand

Le Marché Européen du CO2 et les marchés de l’énergie : Analyse économique et financière 

Hugo Bois

Modélisation et prospective de la demande de mobilité

Yvain Canivet

Analyses entropique et exergétique des systèmes énergétiques par des représentations géométriques

Edouard Civel

Le Rouge et le Vert, Essais sur l’économie de l’information dans le marché de l’habitat durable

Victor Court

Énergie, EROI, et croissance économique : une approche biophysique du système économique

Benjamin Dequiedt

La réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre dans l’agriculture : une application au secteur des grandes cultures

Bastien Dufau

L’influence des prix de l’énergie sur la compétitivité-coût : Une approche multisectorielle et internationale

Jérémy El Beze

Les rôles de la substitution et de l’efficacité énergétiques dans la décarbonation du parc de logements en France

Stephen Lecourt

Secteurs manufacturiers dans le Système Communautaire d’Echange de Quotas d’Emissions

Nicolas Legrand

Les causes de la volatilité du prix des matières premières agricoles et conséquences sur les politiques relatives à la sécurité alimentaire

Jill Madelenat

Analyse de l’efficacité énergétique dans le secteur tertiaire : modélisation et instruments économiques

Claire Papaix

Mise en œuvre des instruments de politique publique allant dans le sens d’une mobilité bas carbone des personnes en milieu urbain

Simon Quemin

Essays on Spatial and Temporal Interconnections between and within Emissions Trading Systems

Olivier Rebenaque

L’impact de la tarification des réseaux et des politiques de soutien sur le développement de l’autoconsommation photovoltaïque

Marie Renner

L’émergence des techniques de Captage, transport et Stockage géologique du Carbone dans le secteur électrique

Boris Solier

Une analyse économique et ex-post des effets du prix du carbone sur le secteur électrique européen

Camille Tevenart

Freins à l’adoption de mesures d’atténuation des émissions de GES dans le secteur agricole français : rôle de l’incertitude, de l’information et des attitudes face au risque

Raphaël Trotignon

A la recherche du prix du carbone : Système Européen d’Echange de Quotas de CO2 : des analyses ex ante et ex post à la projection en 2020

Wen Wang

Intégrer l’agriculture dans les politiques d’atténuation chinoises

Julien Wolfersberger

Développement économique et transition forestière